The 2017/2018 Galley Beggar Press short story prize is open for submissions

The Galley Beggar Press Story Story Prize 2017/18 is now open to submissions.
Yes it is. This is exciting. Let's get to business:
To enter, click here.
This year, the directors of Galley Beggar Press will be joined by three new judges: award-winning writer, academic and activist Preti Taneja; the books journalist Natasha Onwuemezi; and writer, essayist and literary critic Joanna Walsh. (To read more about our judges, click here.
For the 2017/18 Prize there are three tiers of awards: 
The WINNER of the 2017/18 Short Story Prize will get to choose between a cash prize of £1000 or 12 months of editorial support for a writing project.
SHORTLISTED authors will each receive a cash prize of £150.
Each LONGLISTED author will receive £50 of bookshop vouchers, plus a 4-book subscription to Galley Beggar Press. 
The author of the winning short story will also be profiled and interviewed in The Bookseller, the leading industry magazine (accessed by tens of thousands of publishing professionals around the world each week). (You can read 2016/17 winner Yelena Moskovich’s profile here.)
Cost of entry.
Entry costs £10 per story. The proceeds of the prize pay for the administration costs of the prize, and also raise essential funds for Galley Beggar Press (allowing us to continue to focus on new, ambitious and ‘risky’ authors). This year, there are also 50 free entries available to those on low-incomes (offered on a first-come, first-serve basis – and after emailing 
Deadlines and announcements.
The deadline for submissions is midnight of the evening of 27 August 2017 (UK time).
On Friday 5 January 2018, midday, a longlist of 10 stories will be announced.
On Friday 26 January 2018, midday, a shortlist of 3 stories will be announced. 
On 16 February 2018 the winner of the 2017/18 GBP Short Story Prize will be announced, with a profile to follow in the Bookseller. 
In addition to the prizes, in spring 2018 a celebratory event will be held in London, with the longlisted and shortlisted authors invited to read from their work.  
Further submission information. 
Submissions must be no longer than 6,000 words. 
The cost of entry for each short story is £10.
The deadline for submissions is midnight of the evening of 27 August 2017.
By entering this award, you accept the terms and conditions.
To submit your stories, please refer to the instructions at the top of this page or click here.

Add new comment

Please prove you are sentient...
Fill in the blank.